Human, All Too Human – Jean-Paul Sartre

One of a three-part series of BBC documentaries on Nietzsche, Heidegger and Sartre, first broadcast in 1999.

Somewhat in contrast to my experience with the programmes on Nietzsche and Heidegger, in this case I did have the feeling I’d learned something. I was surprised to discover, for the first time, how much my ideas have in common with those of Sartre: the lack of any God or any predefined set of morals, and the idea that we are making life up as we go along. I’m pretty certain I read his book La nausée once, probably many decades ago and in English, but I decided now that I want to read it again.

Sorry folks, even though I found this one the most useful of the three documentaries, I didn’t find much to write about it, in fact I really only published this post to make up the trilogy. So if you want to know more about it then you’ll just have to watch it yourselves. 🙂

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Details:

title Human, All Too Human – Jean-Paul Sartre
director BBC documentary
released 1999
language English
seen 13/12/2014, on my PC
download / watch online YouTube

Leave a Reply

